How to use this blog/website

I’ve had a couple questions about how to use this blog. So here’s an overview:

  • Under the blog’s title (Journalism 61), you’ll find a row of buttons that serve as links to this blog’s web pages. These pages are where I put information that doesn’t change very often, such as the syllabus and class schedule, etc. Here’s how to navigate these pages:
    • Click on the Assignments button, and it’ll take you to the assignments page which describes the major assignments and provides links to writing exercises and assignments.
    • Click on the Class Schedule button, and it’ll take you to the class schedule, which tells you what to read/review this week and which assignments are due when.
    • The Syllabus button takes you to the syllabus for this class, etc.
    • To go back to the main page of the blog, click on the Home button.
  • The wide center column is the “blog” part of this site. When you’re on the blog’s main or “Home” page, you’ll see a chronological listing of my blog posts in the center column. But if you click on one of the buttons (say, the Syllabus button), that information will appear in the center column. To get back to the main page of the blog, just click on the Home button.
  • The narrow columns on either side of the blog are called sidebars. These stay the same, no matter what’s showing in the center column. Here’s what you’ll find in the sidebars:
    • Categories (in the left sidebar) are organizational/search tools. Whenever I write a post on this blog, I label it with one or more categories. (This one, for example, I’ll categorize as “class info” and “how to’s.”) If you click on a category, such as “Class Info,” it brings up all the blog posts I’ve labeled with that category. That way, even if you don’t exactly remember the title of a blog post or when it was published, you can probably still find it.
    • Recent Posts (left) are just that — a list of the titles of recent blog posts I’ve published on this blog. The titles are active links, so clicking on one takes you to that blog post.
    • Blogroll (right) contains links.
    • Blogs – Section 80 (right) lists links to your class blogs
    • JMC Links will take you to JMC web pages and blogs, and other JMC class blogs.
    • JMC Student Blogs provide links to blogs by some former students of this class.
    • Meta: Lists the links that take me to the WordPress login page so I can manage this blog/site.
    • Subscribe: Click here to subscribe to this blog. Of course, you’ll need a way to track your subscriptions to make this work. I use Google Feed Reader. (More on this a bit later.)
7 responses to “How to use this blog/website

  1. Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an
    established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my
    own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Cheers

  2. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything. But think of if
    you added some great graphics or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!

    Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this website could certainly be one of the very best in its
    niche. Fantastic blog!

  3. That is very fascinating, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed and stay up for looking for extra of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks

  4. hey there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up
    anything new from right here. I did however expertise several
    technical points using this web site, since I experienced to
    reload the web site lots of times previous to I could get
    it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your
    placement in google and can damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

Leave a Reply

