Grappling with AP style

Most of you are doing well with the lead-writing assignments, but a lot of you had trouble with that first AP style exercise. The good news is that I usually drop your lowest AP style grade when I calculate final grades.

I know it takes a while to get good at spotting potential AP style errors and at figuring out how to use the AP Stylebook. So this week you can take another whack at it.

But maybe there’s another way to approach this. When I teach my “on ground” classes, I usually make AP style quizzes a team sport. I find it’s easier to learn AP style when you can put your heads together and learn from each other. I’m open to doing something like that here too … if we can figure out how to do it.

One way might be to use social media. For instance, I suspect many of you are on Facebook and could work together there if you “friended” each other. I could also set up a Twitter page for the class, if anyone is interested in using that venue. And I see that several of you have Yahoo email, so you could collaborate via a Yahoo group or by IMing.

If you’ve got a suggestion on good way to collaborate on AP style exercises, please add it as a comment to this blog post so others can see it too. Maybe if we put our heads together, we can come up with a good alternative.

Leave a Reply

